Day 1

Google new hire orientation is at 8AM. Wait srsly? That’s about the time I’ve been going to sleep during this past week. Hope this is just a first day deal.

Update: Yeah, getting up early was well worth it. I felt like Po in Kung Fu Panda when he got dropped into the Sacred Hall of Warriors as I gawked at the various ammenities. And also felt equally unworthy as the warriors of the Furious Five coded kung fu circles around me. There is now a level zero.

I also learned that everything is confidential, and so since I love it here (despite being at level zero), I will not be talking about projects, plans, dates, or basically numbers in general. This leaves food, socialness, and Grey Shirt Day as topics for discussion.

For example, I have discovered a tool called TastyMeats which scores lunch menus from the various Google eateries and emails you which ones have the most meat that day. Excellent.

About Kris Hom

Senior Software Engineer at Google

Leave a Reply

